They & I

What will they say? 

What do they think about me? 

Just how vulnerable can a person be? Does it affect me? Oh! How it is killing me.

On a chair, tucked in a cabin, a lone computer staring at me. The air condition blowing a cool breeze. I sit next to a window, on a cold December day. Today is an unusual day. The sun is out. Maybe just to comfort me.

But it does little service.

Out there I can see them together. I can see they are talking. Discussing. Planning.

Are they plotting against me? I am sure they are.

Incapacitated. Debilitated. Humiliated. My eyes transfixed at the wall before.

They are all out there. Am I the one they are talking about?

How do I tell them that I am with them? Where do I begin? They will never believe. They will never hear me.

After all I have done for them…this is the end of a long, long road. A journey that we began together, one that we couldn’t complete.

I failed them. I faltered. I didn’t stand up for them.

I have lost my family, my friends, my colleagues. And with them gone, I have no one to call my own.

But how can I win them back? I need them. To live. To believe in myself. To go on.

This is the end of the story. Just mine. Their will go on forever.

I am taking part in The Write Tribe Festival of Words 8th – 14th December 2013. Today’s prompt is ‘People’

Write Tribe
14 thoughts on “They & I

  1. Nice, this was a reasonably surreal take on the prompt, but loved it nonetheless for the number of interpretations possible.

  2. That’s an interesting take, even though it made me a little uncomfortable in that I had to give it my own interpretation. But that’s the good part too. Till it is They and I the discomfort shall remain. Once it becomes a We things will get better, I hope.

Leave a Reply

