The Reading Challenge

Last year when I was pregnant I read 12 books spread over 6 months. In the month of August when I finally took my maternity leave I read 4.5 books alone. I was pleasantly pleased at my success rate. Really, reading is so cathartic that I have withdrawal symptoms if I don’t read enough. 

Here is a list of some of the books I read last year. A few reviews are listed under Bookshelf  while some others went without a published review. Here are some of the other books that I read: 

1) Mani Shankar Mukherjee’s The Middleman translated by Arunava Sinha 

2) Mani Shankar Mukherjee’s The Great Unknown translated by Soma Das

3) Amish Tripathi’s Immortals of Meluha

4) Amish Tripathi’s Secret of the Nagas

5) Naomi Datta’s The 6pm Slot

6) Manasi Vaidya’s No Deadline for Love 

7) Ismita Tandon Dhanker’s Love on the Rocks

8) Charlotte Bronte’s Vilette

Except for the last one, all books were written by Indian authors and mostly the new crop of emergent writers. Not all were great reads, but then I really enjoyed some. And this has been a practice for the past few years, I somehow enjoy reading Indian authors more than the Westeners! I however throw in a classic here and there to challenge my reading. In 2010, it was Jane Eyre’s Emma that found its place on my bookshelf. 

A little late in the day, almost 4 months past in the year I am signing up for the South Asian Challenge  with a promise that I will better my last year’s reading count and read at least 13 books. And yes, review them all diligently. I have about 7 books ‘bought-and-waiting-to-be-read’ and all of them are in this genre! And so I have promised myself that I will NOT visit a bookstore until I have read them all…!

Ashok Banker’s The Forest of Stories is up and I have two pending reviews coming up! So keep watching this space 🙂 

3 thoughts on “The Reading Challenge

  1. 4.5 books that’s a good way to go! that’s a nice collection you have got there,

    Amish Tripathi’s Immortals of Meluha and Secret of the Nagas are personal favourites

Leave a Reply

