Pickled Carrots!

Okay, this is my second attempt at food blogging, and really it is something I am beginning to enjoy. The pictures were clicked a long time back and I have been prompting myself to sit down to complete the blog post, anyway, better late than never!

There is something about a red, juicy carrot that makes any dish truly palatable. It is also one of my favourite veggie that I gorge on during winters. Now that the season is well past its reign and the dusty, sometimes hot, sometimes cold spring is in, I am bracing up for the cruel summers. Not just for the heat but also for the dearth of fresh vegetables.

This is my eulogy to the red juicy carrot that I won’t see until next winter. A simple, to-do recipe – Pickled Carrots!

DSC_0460

DSC_0462

DSC_0470

Ingredients:

1) 5 Juicy, red carrots

2) Mustard Seeds, black and yellow

3) Curry Leaves

4) Grated Capsicum – One Large

5) Lemon Juice

6) Salt to Taste

 

DSC_0533

 

In a pan, take 1.5 tablespoons of oil. Once hot, let the mustard seeds and curry leaves to splutter.

 

DSC_0536

 

Pour the grated carrots and stir, till soft and cooked.

 

DSC_0540

 

Once cooked, add the grated capsicum and cook for another 3-4 mins on medium flame

 

DSC_0542

 

Once cooked, add the juice of one lemon

 

DSC_0550

 

Now I cooked it on the gas, but it is a microwave dish too. So if you’d like one can micro it too.

DSC_0567

Serve it with rotis or rice, I like it with the latter

 

DSC_0560

2 thoughts on “Pickled Carrots!

Leave a Reply

